top of page
  • Marvina T.

Your Guide to the 10th Congressional District Special Election

We want to get you up to speed on the special election to replace Congressman Donald M. Payne, Jr. 🗳️ Mark your calendars for Tuesday, July 16, 2024, as New Jersey’s 10th Congressional District gears up for this critical vote. We’ll cover everything you need to know about the 10th Congressional District Special Election, including the Essex County Democratic Committee, Inc., endorsed candidate, and available voting methods.

Our Essex County 10th Congressional District Special Election Candidate

The Essex County Democratic Committee, Inc. has endorsed Newark Municipal Council President LaMonica McIver. 

Hailing from Newark’s Central Ward, she is a dedicated public servant committed to community nurturing and youth empowerment. Educated in Newark and mentored by local leaders, her passion for public service began early. With degrees from Bloomfield College and Seton Hall University, she seamlessly blended education and leadership. Her notable tenure as Personnel Director for Montclair Public Schools and her current role as Public Affairs Manager with PSE&G highlight her leadership and adaptability.

In 2012, she founded Newark G.A.L.S., Inc., positively impacting over 3,000 young women. Elected as the youngest woman to the Newark Municipal Council in 2018 and serving as Council President, LaMonica continues to champion the aspirations of Central Ward residents. Her mission is to build on the legacy of outstanding public service established by Congressman Payne Sr. and Congressman Payne Jr., forging a more promising future for the district where everyone's contributions are recognized, and all communities flourish. 

To learn more about LaMonica McIver for Congress, visit: 

Voting Methods

You have convenient choices when it comes to casting your ballot.


Here are the steps you need to take to vote by mail in Essex County:

1. Download the Vote-by-Mail Application from the Essex County website. You can also

pick up the application in person at the Essex Clerk’s Office or your local office.

2. Send your completed application to PO Box 690, Newark, NJ 07102, or drop the

application off in person at the Essex Clerk’s Office.

3. Fill out your ballot once received. Use blue or black ink, and make sure your selections are clear.

4. Place the ballot into the certificate envelope. Then, into the mailing envelope.

5. Return your ballot by mail, drop it off at a secure ballot drop box, or remit to the Clerk’s Office.

Remember, if you’ve selected to receive future election ballots by mail on your application for a prior election, you should also receive a ballot for the special election.

Early Voting

Early voting begins Friday, July 12, 2024, and runs through Sunday, July 14, 2024. Check with your local Clerk’s Office for the nearest early voting location.

Election Day Voting

Contact your municipal Clerk’s Office to learn where you can vote in person for the special election.

Cast Your Ballot!

Make sure you cast your ballot. You can choose how you cast your vote with three different voting options. Please contact the Essex County Clerk's Office for more information about voting methods or the special election.


Here are some Frequently Asked Questions about the upcoming 10th Congressional District special election.

1. Which municipalities are included in the 10th Congressional District special election?

The Essex municipalities include Caldwell, East Orange, Essex Fells, Irvington, Orange, Verona, West Orange, and specific locations in Montclair and Newark.

2. What is the deadline to submit Vote-by-Mail ballots?

Ballots sent by mail must be received within six days after Election Day and be postmarked on or before 8:00 p.m. on July 16th. Ballots dropped off at a secure ballot drop or the Clerk’s Office must be placed in the box by 8:00 p.m. on July 16th.

3. What early voting locations are open in Essex County for the 10th Congressional District Special Election?

In Essex County, there are seven (7) locations where registered voters can cast ballots early:

- East Orange City Hall- 44 City Hall Plaza

- Irvington Municipal Building- 1 Civic Square Wes

- Verona Community Center- 880 Bloomfield Avenue

- Richard J. Codey Arena- 560 Northfield Avenue

- Essex County Complex Parking Garage- 

- Weequahic Park Community Center- Meeker and Elizabeth Avenue Entrance

- West Side Park Community Center-  600 South 17th Street

Friday, July 12th and Saturday, July 13th, Polling locations are open from 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. Sunday, July 14th, polls are open from 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. Find the complete list here.

4. What primary voting locations are open in Essex County for the 10th Congressional District Special Election?

The following locations in Essex County will be will be available for the 10th Congressional Special Election on Tuesday, July 16th, 2024. Click here to find your polling location in:


Essex Fells

East Orange






West Orange

4. What are the requirements for voting in the special election?

To vote in the special election, you must be a United States citizen, 18 years of age, a county resident for at least 30 days before the election, and not be convicted of any indictable offenses.

If you need more information about how to vote, visit the New Jersey Voter Information Portal

Share this with others, and leave a comment below if this was helpful to you. 

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page