Essex County Democratic Committee, Inc. | Essex Democrats Welcome Candidates
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-197,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,transparent_content,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-10.1.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

Essex Democrats Welcome Candidates

Essex Democrats Welcome Candidates

March 25, 2014


Roslyn Smith


Newark, NJ– Essex County Democratic Committee Chairman, LeRoy J. Jones, Jr. along with the Essex County Delegation, county-wide elected officials, municipal chairs, and local state committee representatives welcomed this year’s candidates at an executive board meeting that was held on Monday, March 23th at Essex County College in Newark , NJ.

“I believe that this year’s candidates represent the diversity that is in Essex County and I express my gratitude to the members of the board of chosen freeholders who will be retiring this year, each one of you have served over the years with great distinction,” said Jones as he acknowledged each person by name, including Freeholder President Blonnie Watson, Freeholder Bilal Beasley, Freeholder Carol Clark, and Freeholder Gerald Owens.

“As I complete my final year as a Freeholder, although I am looking forward to my retirement, my years of service have been rewarding.  I can proudly look back at all that has been accomplished during my tenure and I expect this good work to be continued through the new freeholders and wish all of them success,” said Freeholder President Watson



U.S. Senate:

Cory Booker

U.S. House of Representatives:

7th Congressional District        Janice Kovach
8th Congressional District        Albio Sires
10th Congressional District      Donald M. Payne, Jr.
11th Congressional District      Mark S. Dunec

County Executive:

Joseph N. DiVincenzo

Register of Deeds & Mortgages:

Dana Rone

Freeholders At-Large:

Patricia Sebold

Rufus Johnson

Brendan Gill

Lebby Jones

District One     Rolando Bobadilla

District Two    Wayne Richarson

District Three  Britnee Timberlake

District Four    Leonard Luciano

District Five    Cynthia Toro


Dana Rone

Dana Rone is an urban education consultant who works tirelessly to create options for parents and children in urban areas throughout New Jersey, by creating after-school programs, athletic tutorial programs, specialized supplemental educations programs.  She is a well-known advocate for low-income housing residents and the more than 44,000 children who attend public schools in Newark.

As a product of Newark’s public housing and public school systems, she has successfully drawn on her passion for housing and educational reform throughout her career. With an unyielding focus on progressive change, she was elected to the Board of Newark Public Schools (NPS) in 2000, and ran for the Newark City Council in 2002. In 2003, she was reelected to the Board of NPS, receiving approximately 11,000 votes, and made history by receiving more votes than any candidate in a school board election in New Jersey. She also served as commissioner for the Newark Housing Authority.  In May of 2006, she became the first woman elected to the Newark Municipal Council in the Central Ward (receiving the most number of votes in recent history). Dana also has earned a Master Degree in Urban Policy Analysis and Management


Lebby C. Jones

A longtime resident of the Township of Irvington, Lebby C. Jones has served her community with diligence and distinction. Her electoral career began in the 1980′s, when she won the post of South Ward District Leader (S-8). Having secured re-election for numerous consecutive terms, she retains the post today. Following her appointment as the South Ward Council Member in 1994, Lebby C. Jones was elected to the position in 1996. In 1998, she was elected as an At-Large Council Member and re-elected in 2002 and 2006 again in 2010. Her public service career includes: former membership with the Irvington Board of Education, for which she served as president from 1993-1994; presidency and board membership of the NAACP Irvington branch; presidency of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemorative Association of Irvington; presidency of the Laventhal Avenue Block Association; membership with the Irvington Anti-Graffiti Task Force; and membership with the Irvington Taxicab Commission.

Wayne Richarson

Wayne Richarson is the president of local 55 and has been a longtime construction worker. He is also a member of the Newark chapter of the NAACP where he was presented the 2013 Donald M. Payne, Sr. Political Action Award for his statewide advocacy on behalf of working families as well as his efforts to increase voter registration and participation in elections.

Wayne worked for many years in construction and light production. In 2004, Wayne began working for the Laborers, at River Terminal in South Kearney. Then in 2006 Wayne was hired as a business agent for Laborers Local 108 in New York City, insuring that workers’ issues were addressed and resolved according to contract. He went on to work for the Laborers Eastern Region Organizing Fund (L E R O F), under which he served as a community organizer for G.A.N.E.  (Garden State Alliance for a New Economy), a member organization of the Partnership for Working Families.


Britnee Timberlake

Britnee has dedicated her education and professional career to helping people. She has a Bachelors of Arts and Sciences in Political Science with a minor in Religious Studies, and a Masters of Public Administration concentration in Nonprofit Management all from Seton Hall University. Britnee is a AmeriCorps alumni and a current student of EmergeNJ.

Britnee is passionate about helping people into affordable housing, feeding the homeless and helping parents and children save for college: Britnee is currently, the founding Executive Director of a nonprofit affordable housing organization called the Essex Community Land Trust (ECLT), and the owner of a mission driven catering company named Britnee, LLC. The ECLT supports the creation of permanent high quality affordable housing throughout the diverse municipalities of Essex County, NJ. In this position, Britnee has been successful in leveraging over 1 million dollars to be used to build affordable housing in suburban communities for low- to moderate people. Her catering company feeds the homeless after every large event and has a cookie dough line called College Bound Cookies (CBC). CBC is a mission-driven fundraising company with the mission to eradicate student loan debt one child at a time. As the children sell cookie dough, funds are raised for their individual 529 College Savings Accounts and their current school/organization.


Cynthia Toro

Cynthia Toro is a current resident and district leader in Bloomfield, NJ. She is a graduate of Montclair State University with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology & Justice Studies. She is pursuing a graduate degree in Social Work from Rutgers University. She has worked in Employment Services for the State of New Jersey and has served as a commissioner of the Essex County Improvement Authority.



%d bloggers like this: