Essex County Democratic Committee, Inc. | Essex County Democrats Elect Jones as Chairman for Full Term
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-476,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,transparent_content,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-10.1.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

Essex County Democrats Elect Jones as Chairman for Full Term

Essex County Democrats Elect Jones as Chairman for Full Term

Essex County Democratic Committee
June 13, 2014
Contact: Roslyn Smith

LeRoy Happy HeadshotWest Orange, NJ – The Essex County Democratic Committee convened in West Orange on Wednesday evening for their reorganization. LeRoy Jones, a longtime mentee of the late Philip Thigpen, was elected to serve a full two year term as chairman after filling the unexpired term left by the former chairman.

“There is a time and season for everything, this is LeRoy Jones’s season to lead our county party,” said Assemblywoman Sheila Oliver (D-34). The former assembly speaker also noted how Jones has transformed the East Orange Democratic Committee to be one of the most dynamic organizations in the State of New Jersey.

Community leaders and elected officials that gave remarks commended Jones and expressed their enthusiasm about all that will be accomplished in his role as chairman because of his diverse experience working in public service throughout the years.

“LeRoy always gives 110% and constantly seeks to achieve higher standards,” said Assemblyman Thomas Giblin (D-34).

Additional officers of the Essex County Democratic Committee were elected that evening, including Senator M. Teresa Ruiz (D-29) to serve as First Vice-Chair, longtime labor leader William Kennedy to serve as Second Vice-Chair, Lee Fisher to serve as Secretary and Michael DelPlato to serve as Treasurer.

At the conclusion of the evening, Jones expressed his gratitude to everyone for the widespread support he received, noting that he would continue the legacy of Philip Thigpen and Donald M. Payne, Sr. Jones said, “It is my goal and ambition to make this organization second to none in our state and even in our great nation, I believe that is a healthy exercise when we express contrasting views when it is done with the understanding that we are all still Democrats who stand on the principles of equally and fairness, aligning with the values of our national party, thank you to everyone for your support.”


Chairman: LeRoy J. Jones, Jr.

First Vice Chair: Senator M. Teresa Ruiz (D-29)

Second Vice Chair: William Kennedy

Third Vice Chair (Appointed): Linda Barucky

Secretary: Lee Fisher

Treasurer: Mike DelPlato

Parliamentarian (Appointed): Michael Parlavecchio, Esq.

Sergeants At-Arms (Appointed):

Keith Ali
Lonnie Hughes
Charles Williams

%d bloggers like this: